In previous posts such as this one I’ve talked about sharing your files with your collaborators. It can be a lot of work, though, to set up sharing on a file-by-file basis.
If you regularly share assets with the same group of people, it often proves easier to set up a shared folder to help you. Once the folder has been suitably shared, anything placed in it will automatically be shared according to the folder’s share settings.
By default a folder is private, unless the folder is created within another folder that is not private. In that case, the subfolder inherits the sharing settings of its parent folder.
To configure sharing, first open the share dialog by clicking the ‘people plus’ icon ringed in the above image. This opens the Share with others dialog:
In the Advanced sharing settings, click Change if you would like to change the folder settings from private to your own sharing requirements.
Those with whom the folder is shared will see the folder under Incoming in the left hand column, and from there they can move it into their own My Drive listing.
Although any documents or folders placed into the shared folder automatically inherit the sharing settings, these can be modified on a file by file basis. The advanced sharing window allows you to change collaborators’ editing rights or prevent them entirely from sharing a document.
Note: Documents in Google Drive each have their own sharing settings, and placing a document into a shared folder does not permanently alter these. Subsequently moving the document back out of the folder will restore the document’s own share settings. This allows you to temporarily allow certain individuals access to a document or documents by placing the relevant file(s) into a shared folder.