Remove or Edit User Sharing for Multiple Files

Sometimes you need to edit or remove the share permissions of a single collaborator for a list of Google Drive documents. This might happen, for example, when an individual has left a project, a course, or a company.

Thankfully it’s quite easy to achieve. Highlight the files in question, as shown in the first figure (here I’ve first searched for owner:me, but you can locate the files in any way that’s convenient) then right-click and select Share…:

Click image to enlarge

Click image to enlarge

In the dialog that opens, you need to select the Advanced link:

Click image to enlarge

Click image to enlarge

Now you can edit any user’s share permissions, or remove them completely with the grey ‘x’ link:

Click image to enlarge

Click image to enlarge

The change will be applied to all the files you selected.

Note that if you select multiple files that have different share permissions (or no sharing enabled) for a particular collaborator, the word Varies will appear next to the user in the list:

Click image to enlarge

Click image to enlarge

If you select a new permission level for that user, it will be applied to all the selected files.

If there are lots of files to change in this way, you might find it cumbersome to highlight them all. If that’s the case, remember that you can perform the same actions described above on entire folders instead of individual files, and all the files contained within will have the changes applied.