You’ll already be aware that you can share documents, spreadsheets, presentations and drawings with your colleagues, and that you can also specify the access level for these collaborators, i.e. you can grant them full editing privileges, or just the ability to view a file or to add comments.
I’ve discussed the sharing of files in quite a number of previous posts – it is, after all, one of the main collaboration features of Google Drive.
Google has just strengthened its sharing system a little more, with the new ability to let owners of shared files lock some functions like downloading, printing, or copying.
Google’s My Maps app is a cool tool that lets you create custom maps with your own data layered on top.
The service has been around for a while, but is now available directly from within Google Drive.
I recently discussed some of the things you can do with Google’s Translate tool.
A further feature of this handy application is the ability to save your translated phrases in the built-in phrasebook. Let’s suppose you’ve just translated a phrase:
In this previous post (and others) I discussed how to protect spreadsheet cells to prevent your collaborators from messing up your sheets with inappropriate edits.
Google has just made this a little more flexible by allowing you to add a warning text to selected ranges or cells within a sheet that can be edited by collaborators.
As I’ve discussed previously (e.g. in this post) f you want to make a Google Sheets spreadsheet available for a large audience to see, you can publish the spreadsheet as a web page.
When the file is published, the publisher obtains a URL that can be sent to whomever they choose, or embedded into a website.
In other posts I’ve mentioned ongoing changes to the top-right interface, where you can manage apps, notifications and so on.
A recent update is the inclusion of a Settings cog-wheel icon inside the notifications pop-up: